1914 -1939 -On the 12th March 1914 footballers from Byron Bay, Mullumbimby, Brunswick Heads, Billinudgel, Bangalow and Newrybar met at Tara’s Hall Bangalow to vote to adopt the new code of rugby league.  Games in Byron were played at the Recreation grounds.

Byron Bay had many incarnations during this period from the Byron Bay Seagulls, The Hayseeds and then later Cavanbah, picking up back to back premerships in 1929.

1940-1950 (The war Years) - Premiership for the Cavanbah team in 1946 was boosted by the closure of Bangalow Rugby League Club in 1950. Byron Bay's 1951 squad was bulging with players. Both the A Grade and Reserve grade took out the minor and major Premierships. 

1960 – The Birth of The Devils - The Byron team had folded and players had to join Mullumbimby just to get a game. In 1974 Ted Speers  and Bill Noonan shared a vision and with a few mates and from this, The Byron Bay Red Devils were formed.

1975 was a great year for The Byron Bay Red Devils knocking Cudgen off for a spot in the Grand final and then when on to win it 22-17. In 1976 the Reserve Grade team secured back to back Premierships and the U18s, with last years GF loss still fresh in their minds, went all the way and won the 1976 Grand Final. 

1990 -2000 Back to Back Victories - In 1995 both the first and reserves went al the way to the Grand Final with both teams securing victory.

 2000- Early to mid 2000 was a tough period for the bay. Vince Nicklin and Nathan Cross as Captain decided to bring some players down from the Tweed Seagulls Club. Thing s turned around instantly. The boys brought the 2008 Grand Final Trophy back to the Bay. After making the finals in A grade in 2009 and 2010 the team lost momentum. One week out from the start of the 2011 season the Club looked as though it would fold but things turned around by years end making 2011 Grand Final